Auto Insurance in Michigan
Car Insurance Requirements in Michigan
According to car insurance laws in the state, drivers are required to show proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicles. The state minimums for insurance are $20,000 for bodily injury liability per person and 40,000 for any one accident and $10,000 for property damage liability. The penalties of driving without insurance include fines, jail time, and a 30-day driver’s license suspension.
Car Insurance Options
Liability coverage that is required in Michigan will only cover damages to someone else’s car or their injuries and won’t cover your injuries or car. If you want these protections, you will have to purchase additional coverage. Collision coverage protects your car if it is damaged during an accident. There are different types of collision coverage you can purchase..
Broad form collision coverage will cover damages if you are in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Standard collision coverage is the same as broad, but you will be required to pay your deductible even if you weren’t at fault. Limited collision coverage won’t provide any benefits if the driver of the vehicle was more than 50% at fault for the accident.
Our agents at Luft Insurance can help you determine what type of collision coverage is right for you. Comprehensive coverage will cover events such as hitting a deer, fire, theft, or damage that isn’t related to a collision. Comprehensive and collision coverage may be required if you are financing or leasing your vehicle. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage will protect you if you are involved in a collision with a driver who doesn’t have the required insurance or not enough liability insurance. Gap coverage will cover the difference in value between what your car is worth if it is totaled and what is owed on it. Accidental death coverage is life insurance if you or a passenger is killed during an auto accident.
Contact the Luft Insurance Agency, to get a quote on auto insurance.